top of page

How to use 'Even if' and 'Even though'

Updated: Sep 2, 2021

EVEN IF and EVEN THOUGH are not the same

To get a good score in IELTS writing and speaking, you need to show that you can use complex sentences with a linker. Some students get confused with EVEN IF and EVEN THOUGH and then they decide NOT to use them :( But you should learn how to use them and try :)


Even if means whether ... or not

  • Even if I had $2000, I still wouldn't buy that business suit.. =

  • Whether I had $2000 or not, I still wouldn't buy that business suit. (It's ugly!)

  • I wouldn't marry you, even if you were the last man on earth =

  • I wouldn't marry you, whether you were the last man on earth or not.

Another way to understand this is

It doesn't matter if / whether I had $2000, I still wouldn't buy that suit.

It doesn't matter if / whether you were the only man available, I still wouldn't marry you.


ATTENTION: We use EVEN IF for imaginary situations - they are NOT real!



Even though means despite. It's almost the same as Although and Though, but with more emphasis.

  • Even though I didn't have much sleep last night, I'm going to go jogging this morning.

  • I'm planning to go hiking for 2 weeks in Peru, even though my boss probably won't give me the holiday time.

AND IN IELTS WRITING?


You can use these linkers in the conclusion to a Task 2 essay.

  • Even though it may cost governments a lot of money, it will be worth it to save endangered animals and protect biodiversity.

  • All children should be given the chance to do creative and artistic activities at school, even if they are only interested in maths and science.

And in the speaking test, use them in Part 3 to help support your opinion.

  • To be honest, even if people can't afford it, they should still try to eat a more healthy diet. Junk food might be cheaper but it's ruining their health.

  • Well ... I'd like to see my country's government spending more on public transport, even though at the moment most people still use their private cars.

4 views0 comments

Comments


Would you like to get FREE English Help?

Well done! You are going to improve your English.

bottom of page