top of page

Do you know how to use MINE, MY OWN, ON MY OWN/BY MYSELF?


Look Mum! I can sit here on my own.


Which two sentences are correct?

  1. That lady over there is a friend of my own.

  2. I share a bathroom and kitchen but I have my own bedroom.

  3. I don't like living by myself.

  4. I went out with George because he didn't want to go out by his self.

That's right - sentences 2 and 3 are correct.

Sentence 1 should be That lady over there is a friend of mine.

Sentence 4 should be I went out with George because he didn't want to go out by himself.


Do you know the rules in English for this language?


A. a _____ of mine / a _____ of yours / a ____ of his/hers / a ____ of Lucy's / a ____ of theirs / a ____ of ours

B. my own / your own / his/her own / its own / our own / their own (+ NOUN)

C. on my own / on your own / on his/her own / on its own / on their own

D. by myself / by yourself / by himself/herself / by itself / by themselves


Examples

A. A friend of mine told me that the boss is going to resign.

A. Don't touch that! It's a special piece of Lucy's. (= it belongs to Lucy)

A. They own 4 boats. And see that blue one there - that's one of theirs.

B. Finally, I have my own car.

B. The university has its own vaccine development program.

B. Once you become an adult, you have to make your own decisions.

C. I'd like to buy a house on my own, but I don't think it's possible.

C. The women go diving on their own.

D. I'm going to a 50 kilometre hike by myself.

D. The children want to cook dinner by themselves.


Notice and learn and remember

  • Lucy's = hers

  • learn the pronouns with the 's' - mine/yours/its/his/hers/ours/theirs

  • on my own = by myself = alone

  • you can also use 'own' to say you want to do something instead of another person e.g. I can fix my own car. = I don't need the car mechanic to do it.

Now watch the FREE mini-lesson.




67 views0 comments

Comentarios


Would you like to get FREE English Help?

Well done! You are going to improve your English.

bottom of page