top of page

How to talk about family and get a high score



In general, describing your family.

  • I have a mum and a dad.

  • My mum died when I was ___ years old.

  • I have 3 brothers and one sister.

  • I have a large family.

  • I have a small family – just mum, dad and me.

  • My grandmother lives with us. She is my mum’s mum.

Talking about your extended family - vocabulary

  • my mother's brother = my uncle

  • my husband's mother = my mother-in-law

  • single, married, divorced

  • stepson, half-brother

Do you know and can you use all these words?



Learn phrases with the word 'family'

  • large or small family

  • typical family

  • nuclear family - the traditional family unit of 1 father with 1 mother and 2 children all living together

  • blended family - when two adults from separate families divorce marry and form a new family

  • immediate family - the people most closely related to you - your father, mother and brothers or sisters

  • extended family - the people you are related to but who aren't in your immediate family - your uncles, aunts, cousins, grandparents, etc.

Talking about your childhood in your family

  • I had a happy / sad childhood.

  • I guess you could say I was a bit lonely, because I was an only child. But I had lots of friends in the neighbourhood.

  • My brothers and sisters and I would fight a lot, and then we’d laugh so much our bellies hurt.

  • Mealtimes were crazy because everyone was talking at the same time.

  • Looking back, I’m grateful for the experiences I had as a child.

Learn to use your dictionary to keep learning

  1. look up the word 'family'

  2. look at the phrases using that word

  3. look at the idioms using that word

And don't stop learning. NEVER give up. I'm here to help.



8 views0 comments

Comments


Would you like to get FREE English Help?

Well done! You are going to improve your English.

bottom of page