top of page

2 ways to answer Part 2 - IELTS Speaking - describe something beautiful

Here are two model answers to this card.


ONE - a beautiful painting - how would you fill in the missing parts?

Part 2 speaking describe something beautiful
Monet haystacks

Today ______________ a painting by Monet. Do you know him? He is, or he _____ a French painter. I ______ saw it in a book when I was in high school and it impressed me immediately. _____ I found out that he had painted many the same at different times of day – it’s called , actually I don’t know the name in English – you know those piles of dry grass on a farm and they look golden. So the sunlight is shining on them and the painting creates a beautiful atmosphere. So, obviously I ______ go and see it for myself. About 10 years _____, I finally saw one of them ____ a museum in Paris and then a couple of years after that, I saw _________ one in Chicago. I _______ to talk about this painting because it has stayed in my mind more than any other artwork that I think is beautiful.

** haystacks - a pile of dry grass in a field


TWO - a diamond ring - how does the student link the ideas together?

part 2 speaking describe something beautiful
diamond ring

I’m going to talk about my diamond ring. I’m engaged to be married, you see. You can imagine that I first saw it when my fiancé asked me to marry him. He knew what ring I liked, but it was still a surprise when he had already bought it and offered it to me that day. I was crying because I was so happy. It has one almond-shaped diamond in the middle and then two much smaller diamonds on both sides. It still makes me happy just looking at it. Oh, by the way, we were in a beautiful park near my house when it gave it to me. As for the reason I chose this jewellery to talk about, I can honestly say that this ring is the most precious thing to me in the whole world. It represents our love and my fiancé's sacrifice (you know diamonds are expensive), and I think it’s pretty and something special that I will keep forever.


Now, watch the video and SPEAK WITH ME - it is one of the tricks to pass IELTS speaking - speak WITH native English speakers to practise. I know you can do it!


And by the way - this ebook for SPEAKING is completely FREE!


3 views0 comments

Comments


Would you like to get FREE English Help?

Well done! You are going to improve your English.

bottom of page